South Americans need no visas for region

According to the Associated Press, “Nationals from all 12 South American nations will soon be able to travel freely throughout their region without needing visas, a regional foreign ministers summit in Chile has agreed.The decision exempts the visa requirement for nationals from Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela.The decision ‘represents a step in our efforts to eliminate our traditional divisions,’ said Chilean Foreign Minister Alejandro Foxley who inaugurated the daylong conference. The visa exemption is expected to become effective within 90 days. Regional integration is the main subject in the ministers’ agenda.”

Leave a Comment