British Dependent Territories

The UK Government has announced that it intends to give citizens of the British Dependent Territories the right of abode in the UK. This will apply to approximately 150 000 people in the following territories: Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Pitcairn Island, Saint Helena and its dependencies and the Turks and Caicos Islands. The people of the Falkland Islands and Gibraltar already have this right. In exchange, these territories will have to change some of their laws to meet international standards on law enforcement co-operation, money laundering, transparency and independent financial regulation. They will also have to comply with the European Convention on Human Rights and the International Convention on Civil and Political Rights.

Leave a Comment